ناشر الأصول

عودة

شركة

تاريخ النشر

2023 يول 26

مشاركة

شركة "البحر الأحمر الدولية" تُطلق مشتلاً جديداً لزراعة 50 مليون شجرة مانغروف

تاريخ النشر

26 Jul 2023

مشاركة

-    مبادرة بالشراكة مع المركز الوطني لتنمية الغطاء النباتي بمناسبة اليوم العالمي للحفاظ على النظام البيئي لأشجار المانغروف.
-    تدعم هذه  المبادرة التزام "البحر الأحمر الدولية" تجاه المحافظة على ساحل البحر الأحمر بالمملكة وتعزيزه.


(الرياض، 26 يوليو 2023): أطلقت "البحر الأحمر الدولية" الشركة المطوّرة لأكثر المشاريع السياحية المتجددة طموحًا في العالم – وجهتي "البحر الأحمر" و"أمالا" – اليوم أول مشتل مخصص لزراعة أشجار المانغروف، لتحقيق إحدى أهداف الشركة المتمثلة في زراعة 50 مليون شجرة مانغروف بحلول عام 2030.

وتتماشى مبادرة مشروع زراعة أشجار المانغروف بشكل وثيق مع أهداف مبادرة السعودية الخضراء، إلى جانب التزام "البحر الأحمر الدولية" بالمحافظة على النظم البيئية لساحل البحر الأحمر وتعزيزها، انطلاقا من التزامها بزيادة قيمة التنوع البيولوجي في وجهاتها بنسبة 30% بحلول 2040.

 

" نؤمن بأن البيئة من حولنا هي أثمن أصولنا، لذلك يتجاوز دورنا جميعاً مجرد حمايتها، إلى تعزيزها بالنظر للخطط المستقبلية التي نستبق بها أي تأثير عليها. ويأتي افتتاح المشتل المخصص لزراعة أشجار المانغروف اليوم كدليل على تفانينا المستمر بالمحافظة على النظم البيئية لساحل البحر الأحمر وتعزيزها".
جون باغانو، الرئيس التنفيذي لـ "البحر الأحمر الدولية"

 

" وفي الوقت الذي نستمر فيه في استكشاف أحدث التقنيات والمنهجيات المبتكرة؛ إلا أننا نجد في الطبيعة دائماً أفضل الحلول لمواجهة التحديات الحالية والمستقبلية. تُعد أشجار المانغروف واحدة من أكثر الأصول الطبيعية قيمة لدينا، نظراً لأنها تعتبر موطناً للحياة الفطرية، وتساهم في الحد من آثار الأمواج كالفيضانات والتعرية، والتكيف مع آثار تغير المناخ، وتعمل على عزل الكربون وتخزينه. ويهدف مشتلنا لزيادة أعداد غابات المانغروف وتعزيز التنوع البيولوجي مما سيمكننا من تحقيق أهدافنا البيئية الطموحة".

أضاف باغانو.


وتم إنشاء المشتل المخصص لزراعة أشجار المانغروف بالشراكة مع المركز الوطني لتنمية الغطاء النباتي، والذي يهدف لزراعة مليون شتلة بحلول 2030، والتي ستُستخدم في تشكيل الغطاء النباتي في وجهات "البحر الأحمر الدولية".

وستتم العناية بشتلات المانغروف في المشتل الزراعي لمدة 8 أشهر تقريباً، حتى يبلغ طول الشتلات 80 سم، ومن ثم يتم زراعتها بعناية في حدائق المانغروف المخصصة في جميع أنحاء وجهات "البحر الأحمر الدولية"، واختار المختصين في "البحر الأحمر الدولية" زراعة أشجار المانغروف المحلية لزيادة فرص نجاح استزراع أشجار أخرى من نفس الفصيلة، مثل أشجار المانغروف الرمادية وأشجار المانغروف الحمراء.

 

"يعتبر إنشاء نظام بيئي مستدام لأشجار المانغروف جزءاً أساسياً من التزامنا تجاه حماية البيئة الطبيعية لوجهاتنا وتعزيزها. إذا تتميز أشجار المانغروف بأنها من أكثر النباتات فاعلية في القدرة على امتصاص الكربون بمقدار 5 إلى 10 مرات أكثر من النباتات الأخرى. وإلى جانب التأثير الإيجابي على التنوع البيئي؛ فإن نجاحنا في زراعة أشجار المانغروف في مشاتلنا يُشكل ركيزة أساسية في طموحنا المتثمل في زيادة قيمة التنوع البيولوجي بنسبة 30% عبر وجهاتنا".

رائد البسيط، رئيس البيئة والاستدامة لـ "البحر الأحمر الدولية"


وتتبنى "البحر الأحمر الدولية" أعلى معايير وتدابير الحماية للمشتل الزراعي لتجنب تلف الشتلات، حيث تم بناؤه في مواقع مختارة بعناية ومحمية من التهديدات الطبيعية كالعواصف وحركات المد والجزر الشديدة، فضلًا عن التهديدات الأخرى، مثل الرعي الحُر للحيوانات، والطمي من الرواسب، ورمي القمامة.

وستتم زراعة شتلات المانغروف في كافة أنحاء وجهات البحر الأحمر، كما ستخصص حدائق للمانغروف لتكون جزءا من تجربة زوّار وضيوف وجهاتنا، حيث ستتاح لهم فرصة زيارتها واستكشافها ومعرفة المزيد عن الدور الهام الذي تؤديه هذه النباتات الفريدة من نوعها في المنظومة البيئية الطبيعية داخل منطقة البحر الأحمر. 


هذا، وأوضح طارق العباسي، مدير إدارة البرامج البيئية في "البحر الأحمر الدولية" أن عملية زراعة أشجار المانغروف وإنتاجها تتم من خلال تبني مهارات تقنية عالية وتخطيطاً وإتقاناً كبيراً، وقال: "تحتاج غابات المانغروف لحركة المد والجزر الساحلية حتى تنمو وتزدهر. لذلك، توجد مشاتل المانغروف عادةً في المياه الضحلة في منطقة المد لضمان نمو الشتلات على النحو الأمثل. ولتحقيق النمو الأمثل لأشجار المانغروف في مشتلنا، نقوم بمراقبة دورات المد والجزر لتتبع مدى انخفاض المياه، والظروف المناخية".

ويُعد إنشاء مشتل المانغروف أحدث مبادرة أطلقتها "البحر الأحمر الدولية" بهدف حماية وتعزيز الموائل الرئيسية ذات الأهمية للتنوع البيولوجي، وتشمل المشاريع السابقة أول عملية نقل ناجحة لنخيل "الدوم" وأشجار السنط "الأكاسيا"، والتي تم تنفيذها في وقت سابق من هذا العام، إلى جانب إنشاء مشاتل مرجانية عائمة للمساهمة في زيادة عدد الشعب المرجانية في المنطقة، كما تُجري الشركة مسوحات بيئية للنظم البيئية للحياة الفطرية بصورة منتظمة من أجل رصد وتعقب الآثار والتحسينات الحاصلة في البيئة، وذلك لتحسين نهجها وضمان تحقيق الأهداف المتجددة.


وكانت "البحر الأحمر الدولية" قد أصدرت حديثا دراسة عن الحياة الفطرية والمنظومة البيئية، والتي استندت على النتائج المستمدة من أضخم مسح حول البيئة على الإطلاق تم إجراؤه من قبل مطوّر عقاري العام الماضي، حيث شمل مساحة 250 كم من الخط الساحلي لوجهة "البحر الأحمر" ومناطق محددة من وجهة "أمالا".

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن أعمال التطوير في مشروع "وجهة البحر الأحمر" تسير على قدمٍ وساق لاستقبال طلائع زوراه هذا العام، بالتزامن مع افتتاح المطار الدولي وأول مجموعة من الفنادق، كما أنه من المقرر افتتاح وجهة "أمالا" للزوّار في عام 2024.

عن البحر الأحمر الدولية

تُعد البحر الأحمر الدولية (www.redseaglobal.com) هي شركة مساهمة مقفلة مملوكة بالكامل من قبل صندوق الاستثمارات العامة في المملكة العربية السعودية.

البحر الأحمر الدولية مطور عالمي لمحفظة مشاريع متعددة، تسعى إلى ريادة التطوير المسؤول على الصعيد العالمي نحو مستقبل أكثر استدامة، لتكون مثالاً حياُ على أن إمكانية نهوض التنمية المسؤولة والمتجددة بالمجتمعات ودفع الاقتصاد وتعزيز البيئة. وتنطلق جميع قرارات الشركة من مبدأ حماية الموارد الطبيعية بهدف خلق مستقبل أفضل للجميع.

تمثل البحر الأحمر الدولية جزءاً هاماً من رؤية السعودية 2030 والتي تهدف للمساهمة في تنويع اقتصاد المملكة وتطوير قطاعات جديدة وخلق فرص واعدة للكفاءات السعودية الشابة وولدعم الاقتصاد المحلي، حيث تقوم بتطوير الأصول والوجهات السياحية والتي تتقاطع مع العديد من القطاعات بهدف خلق تأثير إيجابي على الإنسان والطبيعة.

للبحر الأحمر الدولية رؤية طموحة تتجسد في تطوير مشاريع تعتبر الأكثر طموحًا في العالم، بما في ذلك الوجهات السياحية المتجددة الفاخرة مثل وجهتي البحر الأحمر وأمالا.

عبر محفظة مشاريعها تبنّت الشركة المفاهيم والاستراتيجيات والتقنيات الأكثر ابتكارًا لتقديم المشاريع التي تعزز بشكل فعال رفاهية العملاء والمجتمعات والبيئات.

أحدث الأخبار

تواصل معنا

للمزيد حول البحر الأحمر الدولية، تواصل معنا

Contact us

Asset Publisher

Back

Red Sea Global on track to plant 50 million mangrove trees by 2030 with launch of dedicated nursery

Published

26 Jul 2023

Share

Red Sea Global on track to plant 50 million mangrove trees by 2030 with launch of dedicated nursery

Published

26 Jul 2023

Share

-    Launched in partnership with the National Center for Vegetation Cover on the occasion of the International Day for the Conservation of the Mangrove Ecosystem.
-    Initiative supports Red Sea Global’s wider commitment to conserving and enhancing Kingdom’s Red Sea coast.


(Riyadh, 26 July 2023): Red Sea Global (RSG), the developer behind two of the world’s most ambitious regenerative tourism destinations, The Red Sea and Amaala, has successfully opened its first mangrove nursery. The project will support the delivery of RSG’s aim to plant 50 million mangrove trees by 2030.

The initiative closely aligns with the national objectives of the Saudi Green Initiative and RSG’s commitment to conserving and revitalizing the Kingdom’s Red Sea coast, underpinned by an overarching ambition to deliver a 30 percent net conservation benefit by 2040.

 

“We hold the utmost respect for the environment in which we operate and recognize it as our most valuable asset. It is our shared obligation to not only safeguard it, but also proactively enhance it wherever possible. The successful opening of our Mangrove Nursery is a testament to that unyielding dedication to the preservation and rejuvenation of the Red Sea coastline,”
said John Pagano, Group CEO at Red Sea Global.

 

“While we will continue to explore novel approaches, embrace cutting-edge methodologies, and utilize innovate technology, often nature already provides the greatest solutions. The power of mangrove forests to store carbon, to manage flooding and stabilize coastlines, and to provide shelter for fish and other organisms, makes them one of nature’s super ecosystems. Our Mangrove Nursery will increase numbers of mangroves and boost biodiversity, ensuring we reach the environmental ambitions we have set ourselves.”

He added.


The seedlings will be cared for in the nursery for approximately eight months until they grow to 80cm, at which point they will be carefully transplanted in designated mangrove parks within the destination. RSG’s experts chose to cultivate native mangrove species to increase the chances of survival, such as the Rhizophora Mucronate (red mangrove) and the Avicenna Marina (gray mangrove).

 

“The establishment of a sustainable mangrove ecosystem is a key part of our commitment to protect and enhance the natural environment of our destination. These trees are among the most efficient tools we have for carbon sequestration, with the capacity to absorb up to 5-10 times more carbon than other plants. Coupled with the positive impact on biodiversity, the successful cultivation of seedlings forms a central pillar in our ambition to achieve a 30 percent net conservation benefit across our destinations. I speak for the entire team when I express my pride in reaching this milestone moment for our organization.”

Said Raed Albasseet, Group Chief Environment and Sustainability Officer at RSG.


Mangrove nurseries must also be protected from natural threats in their own habitats such as storms, extreme high tides, grazing animals, and algae that feed on them. RSG has implemented the highest measures of protection for the nursery to minimize any harm to the seedlings. 

The dedicated mangrove parks will soon form part of the guest experience, being open for visitors to explore and learn more about the important role they play in natural ecosystems. 
 

“The process of the cultivation and transplantation of mangrove trees is highly technical requiring significant planning and proficiency. Since mangrove forests require water to survive, nurseries are typically located near a source of water within the intertidal zone to ensure the optimal growth of the seedlings. We need to carefully track the tide cycles to find periods of low tide in addition to consistently monitoring the weather to avoid windy days.” 

Said Tarik Alabbasi, Environmental Programs Director at RSG.

 

The establishment of the mangrove nursery is the latest initiative launched by RSG to protect and enhance key habitats crucial to biodiversity. Previous projects include the first-ever successful transplantation of native Doum Palm Trees, achieved earlier this year, and the establishment of pioneering floating coral nurseries to help expand the region’s coral reefs. The group also regularly conducts environmental surveys of wildlife ecosystems to track impacts and improvements, to optimize its approach, and ensure it reaches its regenerative goals.

RSG recently released findings from its latest Wildlife and Ecosystem Study. This builds on results of the largest ever environmental baseline survey completed by a developer released last year, covering 250 km of coastline across The Red Sea and Amaala destination areas.

The Red Sea destination is on track to welcome its first guests this year, when the international airport and the first hotels will open. Amaala will be opened to visitors soon after in 2024. 

About Red Sea Global

Red Sea Global (RSG - www.redseaglobal.com) is a closed joint-stock company wholly owned by the Public Investment Fund (PIF) ofSaudi Arabia.

RSG is a global multi-project developer, seeking to lead the world towards a more sustainable future, showing how responsible and regenerative development can uplift communities, drive economies, and enhance the environment. The protection of natural capital is central to all development decisions, as the organization seeks to create abetter future for all.

A cornerstone of Saudi Arabia’s Vision 2030 ambition to diversify its economy, RSG is playing a key role in transforming the nation, by creating exciting opportunities for young Saudi talent and the private sector, as it develops built assets and destinations across multiple sectors that make a positive impact for people and planet.

RSG is the visionary company behind some of the world’s most ambitious development ventures, including luxury regenerative tourism destinations such as The Red Sea and AMAALA.

Across its portfolio, RSG leverages the most innovative concepts, strategies, and technologies to deliver projects that actively enhance the wellbeing of customers, communities, and environments.

Latest news

Get in touch

To learn more about Red Sea Global, please get in touch.

Contact us